Show Side Menu
To view, print or save our practice booklet, click here
COVID-19 Self Isolation Note
Self Care Nov 2020
Online Services
Maternity Self-Referral
Cytology Protocol Patient Leaflet
Mental & emotional wellbeing resources

Better Days Pain Support Programmes September - November 2021

16 ‘Better Days’ Pain Support Programmes (PSP) will be delivered by Healthy Living Centres (HLC) across Northern Ireland between September - November 2021.

The PSPs were recently officially launched by Health Minister Robin Swann and aim to help people with chronic pain to reduce their reliance on medication and learn other ways to help manage their pain and improve their quality of life.

Click here to watch a short video about the Better Days PSPs. You can also click here to watch a 2 minute patient experience video.

Preliminary findings from recent programmes include (from week 1 to week 12):

  • 55% reduction in self-reporting of ‘extreme’ pain, 33% of ‘moderate’
  • 65% reduction in self-reporting of ‘high’ reliance on medication
  • Increase in use of non-pharmacological techniques from 33% to 73%

Bookings can be made online at https://www.hlcalliance.org/page/pain-support-book-now or by contacting your local HLC.

If dates are unsuitable, it may be possible for patients to contact their local centre and request to be added to a waiting list for a future programme. 

Better Days Pain Support Programme September – November  2021

 

WESTERN

Healthy Living Centre: The Old Library Trust Healthy Living Centre
Area: Derry
Date: 8th Sept
Time: 1pm
Duration: 12 weeks
Contact: Pete Simms
Telephone: 07548985725
Email: pete@olt.ie

Healthy Living Centre: Bogside and Brandywell Health Forum
Area: Derry
Date: 7th Sept
Time: 11am
Duration: 10 weeks
Contact: Ciara McElhinney
Telephone: 07734956313
Email: ciara@bbhealthforum.org

Healthy Living Centre: Oak Healthy Living Centre
Area: Lisnaskea
Date: 8th Sept
Time: 12noon
Duration: 8 weeks
Contact: Davina Coulter
Telephone: 07593446201
Email: Davina.Coulter@oakhlc.com

Healthy Living Centre: Derg Valley Healthy Living Centre
Area: Castlederg
Date: 21st Sept
Time: 7pm
Duration: 10 weeks
Contact: Michael Connolly
Telephone: 07868755735
Email: michael@dergvalleycare.com

Healthy Living Centre: Omagh Forum For Rural Associations
Area: Omagh
Date: 22nd Sept
Time: 11am
Duration: 8 weeks
Contact: Aidan Bunting
Telephone: 028 82251559
Email: aidan.bunting@omaghforum.org

SOUTH EASTERN

Healthy Living Centre: The Resurgam Trust
Area: Lisburn   
Date: 6th Sept
Time: 6pm
Duration: 10 weeks
Contact: Gillian Lewis
Telephone: 07710394983
Email: Healthylivingcentre@resurgamtrust.co.uk

Healthy Living Centre: County Down Rural Community Network
Area: Downpatrick
Date: 22nd Sept
Time: 10.30am
Duration: 9 weeks
Contact: Patricia Martin
Telephone: 07389732749
Email: Patricia.martin@countydownrcn.com

Healthy Living Centre: Poleglass Community Association
Area: Lisburn/ West Belfast
Date: 16th Sept
Time: 11am
Duration: 12 weeks
Contact: Laura Kelly
Telephone: 07759654840
Email: laura@sallygardens.org

BELFAST

Healthy Living Centre: East Belfast Community Development Agency
Area: East Belfast
Date: 20th Sept
Time: 2pm
Duration: 8 weeks
Contact: Marie Anne Templeman
Telephone: 07922423166
Email: marie@ebcda.org

Healthy Living Centre: Newlodge Duncairn Commuity Health Partnership
Area: North Belfast
Date: 15th Sept
Time: TBC
Duration: 8 weeks
Contact: Claire Allen
Telephone: 07585125743
Email: claireallenhats@live.co.uk

Healthy Living Centre: Ligoniel Healthy Living Centre
Area: North Belfast
Date: 8th Sept
Time: 11am
Duration: 8 weeks
Contact: Maria Burke
Telephone: 02890391225
Email: health@ligonielvillage.com

NORTHERN

Healthy Living Centre: Causeway Rural and Urban Network
Area: Coleraine
Date: 16th Sept
Time: 10am
Duration: 8 weeks
Contact: Lorna O'Neill
Telephone: 07909447781
Email: lorna@crun.org

Healthy Living Centre: Cookstown & Western Shores Area
Area: Mid Ulster
Date: 7th Sept
Time: 11am /2pm
Duration: 8 weeks
Contact: Anita Kelly
Telephone: 07540635862
Email: healthalliance@cwsan.org

Healthy Living Centre: Loughgiel Community Association
Area: Loughgiel
Date: 21st Sept
Time: 10am
Duration: 8 weeks
Contact: Lee-Anne
Telephone: 07736943 418
Email: loughgiel@btconnect.com

 

SOUTHERN

Healthy Living Centre: The Clanrye Group
Area: Newry
Date: 23rd Sept
Time: 11am
Duration: 8 weeks
Contact: Claire Convery
Telephone: 07483059876
Email: leanne.taylor@clanryegroup.com

Healthy Living Centre: West Armagh Consortium
Area: Armagh
Date: 10th Sept
Time: 11am
Duration: 10 weeks
Contact: Stephen McCleary
Telephone: 07763818393
Email: westarmaghconsortium@gmail.com 

Local Services. Ready to Help You